[]
[]

THE WHITE MOUNTAINS

Christopher, John (Paperback - 2014 )
Average Rating: 4 stars out of 5.
THE WHITE MOUNTAINS


Item Details

Monstrous machines rule the Earth, but a few humans are fighting for freedom in this repackaged start to a classic alien trilogy ideal for fans of Rick Yancey's The 5th Wave . Will Parker never dreamed he would be the one to rebel against the Tripods. With the approach of his thirteenth birthday, he expected to attend his Capping ceremony as planned and to become connected to the Tripods-huge three-legged machines-that now control all of Earth. But after an encounter with a strange homeless man called Beanpole, Will sets out for the White Mountains, where people are said to be free from the control of the Tripods. But even with the help of Beanpole and his friends, the journey is long and hard. And with the Tripods hunting for anyone who tries to break free, Will must reach the White Mountains fast. But the longer he's away from his home, the more the Tripods look for him...and no one can hide from the monstrous machines forever.
Authors: Christopher, John
Title: THE WHITE MOUNTAINS
Publisher: Simon & Schuster, 2014
Edition: ON ORDER
Characteristics: 256 p. ;
Local Note: 4
ISBN: 9781481414777
1481414771
MARC Display»

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Report This Nov 08, 2013
  • lisahiggs rated this: 3 stars out of 5.

This old-school but not old-fashioned children’s sci-fi adventure is fun, but doesn’t quite make the literary leap from being inspiring enough YA fare as to be good adult fare. It would be a great introduction to science fiction for young readers, like the more impressive The Keeper Of The Isis Light. The thoughtful introduction in this edition proves very helpful in guiding discussion and thinking more deeply about the book (although perhaps some of these issues are already brought up in the rest of the trilogy). This is from the same author as the chilling The Death Of Grass, and as the introduction implies, youth writing is simply not his strong suit. The ending is so weirdly paced and abrupt that I briefly thought I had ended up with a misprinted copy that was missing a chapter.

Report This Mar 31, 2013
  • gvlee rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

I read this trilogy in junior high. My 11 year old daughter just took it out and I stole it from her to re-read it. It's just as good and juicy now as it was then! Excellent sci-fi dystopian future novel. My teen aged son enjoyed, it, too.

Report This Jul 19, 2012
  • camera588 rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

Even if this is a pretty old book, it's still really good. the whole series builds off of the ideas of the time with the space race and the cold war. Will's adventure across France can actually be traced on a map, and all of the places that he visits can be found as French landmarks today. In all, this book is a great easy, quick read and is tons of fun to read to younger siblings.

Age

Add Age Suitability

Wakiman thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 8 and 20

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

There are no videos for this title yet.

DBRL owns a similar edition of this title.

View originally-listed edition

Report edition-matching error

  Loading...

Explore Further


Browse the Shelf
Find Series Titles and Other Books Like This With NoveList

Subject Headings

No Subject Headings have been added to this title yet


  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.