[]
[]

Summerland

A Novel

Hilderbrand, Elin

(Book - 2012)
Average Rating: 3.5 stars out of 5.
Summerland
 Add a Comment  Add Tags
Print
After a fatal car crash during a summer celebration on Nantucket island, four teenagers question if the roots of the accident lie further in the past than they seem; is true healing possible, in even these most devastating circumstance; and, can true friendship ever really die?
Published: New York : Reagan Arthur Books/Little, Brown and Co., 2012.
Edition: 1st ed.
ISBN: 031609983X
9780316099837
Branch Call Number: F HIL
Characteristics: 392 p. ;,25 cm.
Alternate Title: Summer land

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Mar 25, 2014
  • LaughingOne rated this: 1.5 stars out of 5.

Didn't like this one nearly as much as I've liked her other books. I pretty much had to force myself to finish it.

Oct 09, 2013
  • JCLHelenH rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

In the vein of Laura Moriarity’s The Rest of Her Life or Chris Bojhalian’s The Buffalo Soldier, Hilderbrand puts normal, everyday people under a microscope after throwing a terrible tragedy at them.

In Summerland, Twins Hobby and Penny Alistair are shining stars at Nantucket High School. But on graduation night their junior year they are involved in a car accident that leaves Penny dead and Hobby in a coma for seven days. Portrayals are authentic with each family of the four students in the car getting their share of the scrutiny. The town also has a voice and collective reaction.

I picked Summerland up in the airport when I found myself with a backpack full of books I wasn’t in mood to read. I expected it to be uber-light. Not much to think about. But I find myself wishing I had read it for a book club, or at least know someone who has read it so I can discuss the situations and characters.

Nov 19, 2012
  • scarfonedj rated this: 2 stars out of 5.

I have read all of Elin Hilderbrand's books and have enjoyed them thoroughly. However, this book was utterly depressing. The subject matter is depressing - car accident with four highschool student, one dies, others suffering as a result. The parents of all the teenagers suffer. There can't be any happy resolution to this. I'm really surprised by Hilderbrand's approach. She's tackled difficult subject matter in other books and offered an optimist perspective. There is no optimism here. Pass on this.

Sep 18, 2012
  • mrsgail5756 rated this: 2 stars out of 5.

The book was okay – but not one of my favorites.

Aug 11, 2012
  • _Amazon_ rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

Elin Hiderbrand writes good, easy summery fiction. Although after reading all her books, they are getting too formula driven-But I still want to go to Nantucket!

Aug 08, 2012
  • KayleeFoster rated this: 4.5 stars out of 5.

Great read... kept me turning the pages!

Jul 14, 2012
  • motherlobe rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

I agree great summer read.

Jul 13, 2012
  • usartifacts rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

Great summer read! Elin Hilderbrand is great at writing complex realistic characters while leaving the reader with hope, not sap.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

There are no videos for this title yet.

Find it at DBRL

  Loading...

Explore Further


Browse the Shelf
Find Series Titles and Other Books Like This With NoveList

Subject Headings


Recommendations

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.
app07 Version eventuell-fix Last updated 2014/11/28 16:31