[]
[]
Check out our always available digital music and audiobooks from Hoopla! How does this work? Find out here.

I Died for Beauty

Dorothy Wrinch and the Cultures of Science
Senechal, Marjorie (Book - 2013)
I Died for Beauty
Print

Item Details

"In the vein of A Beautiful Mind, The Man Who Loved Only Numbers, and Rosalind Franklin: The Dark Lady of DNA, this volume tells the poignant story of the brilliant, colorful, controversial mathematician named Dorothy Wrinch. Drawing on her own personal and professional relationship with Wrinch and archives in the United States, Canada, and England, Marjorie Senechal explores the life and work of this provocative, scintillating mind. Senechal portrays a woman who was learned, restless, imperious, exacting, critical, witty, and kind. A young disciple of Bertrand Russell while at Cambridge, the first women to receive a doctor of science degree from Oxford University, Wrinch's contributions to mathematical physics, philosophy, probability theory, genetics, protein structure, and crystallography were anything but inconsequential. But Wrinch, a complicated and ultimately tragic figure, is remembered today for her much publicized feud with Linus Pauling over the molecular architecture of proteins. Pauling ultimately won that bitter battle. Yet, Senechal reminds us, some of the giants of mid-century science--including Niels Bohr, Irving Langmuir, D'Arcy Thompson, Harold Urey, and David Harker--took Wrinch's side in the feud. What accounts for her vast if now-forgotten influence? What did these renowned thinkers, in such different fields, hope her model might explain? Senechal presents a sympathetic portrait of the life and work of a luminous but tragically flawed character. At the same time, she illuminates the subtler prejudices Wrinch faced as a feisty woman, profound culture clashes between scientific disciplines, ever-changing notions of symmetry and pattern in science, and the puzzling roles of beauty and truth"-- "A biography of Dorothy Wrinch"--
Authors: Senechal, Marjorie
Title: I died for beauty
Dorothy Wrinch and the cultures of science
Published: New York : Oxford University Press, c2013.
Characteristics: ix, 300 p. :,ill. ;,25 cm.
Contents: Machine generated contents note:
Part I Dorothy Wrinch
Chapter 1. Prologue
Chapter 2. Culture clash at Cold Spring Harbor
Chapter 3. Symmetry Festival
Chapter 4. Dot
Part II Logics
Chapter 5. The Wrangler
Chapter 6. Dear Mr. Russell
Chapter 7. The Summation of Pleasures
Chapter 8. Scientific method
Part III Biology in Transition
Chapter 9. The Spicules of Sponges
Chapter 10. Homes are Hell
Chapter 11. Metamorphoses
Chapter 12. The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets' Nest
Notes and References for Part III
Part IV Proteins and the Imagination
Chapter 13. Hornet Buzz
Chapter 14. The Cyclol Model
Chapter 15. What Is She Doing Here?
Chapter 16. "Linus and Dorothy, " the Opera, with Talkback
Part V The Rosetta Stone of the Solid State
Chapter 17. Crystals
Chapter 18. X-rays and Insulin
Chapter 19. Structure factors
Chapter 20. Amherst College Wife
Part VI I Died for Beauty
Chapter 21. The Sequel
Chapter 22. Strange Doings at Sandoz
Chapter 23. Swan Song
Chapter 24. Epilogue
Cast of Characters
Appendix
Acknowledgments
Notes and References
Index.
Summary: "In the vein of A Beautiful Mind, The Man Who Loved Only Numbers, and Rosalind Franklin: The Dark Lady of DNA, this volume tells the poignant story of the brilliant, colorful, controversial mathematician named Dorothy Wrinch. Drawing on her own personal and professional relationship with Wrinch and archives in the United States, Canada, and England, Marjorie Senechal explores the life and work of this provocative, scintillating mind. Senechal portrays a woman who was learned, restless, imperious, exacting, critical, witty, and kind. A young disciple of Bertrand Russell while at Cambridge, the first women to receive a doctor of science degree from Oxford University, Wrinch's contributions to mathematical physics, philosophy, probability theory, genetics, protein structure, and crystallography were anything but inconsequential. But Wrinch, a complicated and ultimately tragic figure, is remembered today for her much publicized feud with Linus Pauling over the molecular architecture of proteins. Pauling ultimately won that bitter battle. Yet, Senechal reminds us, some of the giants of mid-century science--including Niels Bohr, Irving Langmuir, D'Arcy Thompson, Harold Urey, and David Harker--took Wrinch's side in the feud. What accounts for her vast if now-forgotten influence? What did these renowned thinkers, in such different fields, hope her model might explain? Senechal presents a sympathetic portrait of the life and work of a luminous but tragically flawed character. At the same time, she illuminates the subtler prejudices Wrinch faced as a feisty woman, profound culture clashes between scientific disciplines, ever-changing notions of symmetry and pattern in science, and the puzzling roles of beauty and truth"--
"A biography of Dorothy Wrinch"--
Local Note: 1
ISBN: 9780199732593
0199732590
Branch Call Number: B WRI
Statement of Responsibility: Marjorie Senechal
Bibliography: Includes bibliographical references and index.
Subject Headings: Wrinch, Dorothy, 1894-1976. Mathematicians Argentina Biography. Biochemists Argentina Biography. Women mathematicians Biography. Women biochemists Biography.
Topical Term: Mathematicians
Biochemists
Women mathematicians
Women biochemists
LCCN: 2012012253
MARC Display»

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

There are no videos for this title yet.

Find it at DBRL

  Loading...

Explore Further


Browse the Shelf
Find Series Titles and Other Books Like This With NoveList

Subject Headings


Recommendations

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.
app04 Version Arkelstorp Last updated 2014/10/16 16:30