[]
[]
Check out our always available digital music and audiobooks from Hoopla! How does this work? Find out here.

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea

Average Rating: 4 stars out of 5.
Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea
Print

Item Details

Violet is in love with River, a mysterious seventeen-year-old stranger renting the guest house behind the rotting seaside mansion where Violet lives, but when eerie, grim events begin to happen, Violet recalls her grandmother's frequent warnings about the devil and wonders if River is evil.
Authors: Tucholke, April Genevieve
Title: Between the devil and the deep blue sea
Published: New York : Dial Books, c2013.
Characteristics: 360 pages ;,22 cm
Summary: Violet is in love with River, a mysterious seventeen-year-old stranger renting the guest house behind the rotting seaside mansion where Violet lives, but when eerie, grim events begin to happen, Violet recalls her grandmother's frequent warnings about the devil and wonders if River is evil.
Local Note: 1
ISBN: 9780803738898
0803738897
Branch Call Number: YA TUC
Statement of Responsibility: April Genevieve Tucholke
Subject Headings: Teenagers Juvenile fiction. Good and evil Juvenile fiction. Man-woman relationships Juvenile fiction.
Topical Term: Teenagers
Good and evil
Man-woman relationships
LCCN: 2012035586
MARC Display»

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Sep 30, 2014
  • JCLChrisK rated this: 3 stars out of 5.

I'm going to give this a three-star rating because it's well-written, effective at what it aims to be, and will appeal to its intended audience, and because my honest reaction to it is not based on reading it in a pure vacuum but my mounting response to its type of book. So, three stars, and if the description tempts you I'm guessing you'll like it a good deal.

Sep 25, 2014
  • RubySunshine rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

This book really shook me up. I loved it. The gothic atmospheric feel of it was haunting. The characters were compelling and complex, the storyline kept moving at a good pace and the darkness of it all was gorgeous.

Mar 20, 2014
  • alevesque rated this: 4.5 stars out of 5.

April sure knows how to make a story interesting, with all those twist and turns. The ending really came quick and nasty scary though. I guess it was her way of making us impatient for the release of the sequel.

Oct 19, 2013
  • artemishi rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea, aside from having a gorgeous title font (seriously...I swoon), is pretty original.
It's a gothic horror, in that crumbling-old-houses-and-secrets way. But it's also got a unique voice in Violet, who is intelligent but self-indulgent, patient but with occasional violent thoughts, and whose daredevil curiosity leads to some horrific things.

It's honestly difficult to say more about it without giving things away. So I'll say this:
Violet is an amazing, if not entirely likable or relatable, character.
And portraying some characters as both murderously wicked and responsibly compassionate, in a realistic and believable way, is utter genius.
I read this book in three days, so compelled was I to figure out what was going on and whom to trust.

I highly recommend it to fans of magical realism, mystery, gothic novels, those who like contemporary with a touch of supernatural, folks who are tired of repeated YA tropes about independence/adulthood/romance/etc, and people who enjoy getting a poetic imagery of place.

Aug 28, 2013
  • JCLBethanyT rated this: 4.5 stars out of 5.

This was young adult horror of the finest order. Truly spooky with a heavy element of the Gothic, this novel will appeal to fans of Christopher Pike and Franny Billingsley.

Per GoodReads, this is a gothic horror novel.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

There are no videos for this title yet.

Find it at DBRL

  Loading...

Explore Further


Browse the Shelf
Find Series Titles and Other Books Like This With NoveList

Subject Headings


Recommendations

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.
app05 Version Arkelstorp Last updated 2014/10/23 09:41