[]
[]

JoCoLibrary - Teens - Hunger Games Read-alikes

Feed
Feed By Anderson, M. T. (Book - 2002 )

Annotation:In a future where most people have computer implants in their heads to control their environment, a boy meets an unusual girl who is in serious trouble.

Ship Breaker
Ship Breaker By Bacigalupi, Paolo (Book - 2010 )

Annotation:In a futuristic world, teenaged Nailer scavenges copper wiring from grounded oil tankers for a living, but when he finds a beached clipper ship with a girl in the wreckage, he has to decide if he should strip the ship for its wealth or rescue the girl.

Spacer and Rat
Spacer and Rat By Bechard, Margaret (Book - 2005 )

Annotation:Jack's predictable existence on Freedom space station is transformed when Kit enters his life and enlists him and a sensitive robot in an effort to outwit the Company.

Ender's Game
Ender's Game By Card, Orson Scott (Book - 1994 )

Annotation:Story of Ender, child genius, who is removed from his family to begin his training in a harsh military school, where he is taught on exciting computer-simulated war games to lead the earth's armies in space against alien forces.

The Maze Runner
The Maze Runner By Dashner, James, 1972- (Book - 2009 )

Annotation:Sixteen-year-old Thomas wakes up with no memory in the middle of a maze and realizes he must work with the community in which he finds himself if he is to escape.

Little Brother
Little Brother By Doctorow, Cory (Audiobook CD - 2008 )

Annotation:After being interrogated for days by the Department of Homeland Security in the aftermath of a major terrorist attack on San Francisco, California, seventeen-year-old Marcus, released into what is now a police state, decides to use his expertise in computer hacking to set things right.

The City of Ember
The City of Ember By DuPrau, Jeanne (Book - 2003 )

Annotation:In the year 241, twelve-year-old Lina trades jobs on Assignment Day to be a Messenger to run to new places in her decaying but beloved city, perhaps even to glimpse Unknown Regions.

The House of the Scorpion
The House of the Scorpion By Farmer, Nancy, 1941- (Audiobook CD - 2008 )

Annotation:In the country of Opium lives a boy named Matt, who is a clone of the powerful drug lord, El Patron. His purpose is to extend the life of El Patron when his own body fails him. It is impermissible for him to meet others, but when he sees a group of children outside the window, curiosity besets him.

Gone
Gone By Grant, Michael, 1954- (Book - 2008 )

Annotation:In a small town on the coast of California, everyone over the age of fourteen suddenly disappears, setting up a battle between the remaining town residents and the students from a local private school, as well as those who have "The Power" and are able to perform supernatural feats and those who do not.

Girl in the Arena
Girl in the Arena A Novel Containing Intense Prolonged Sequences of Disaster and Peril By Haines, Lise (Book - 2009 )

Annotation:In Massachusetts, eighteen-year-old Lyn, who has grown up in the public eye as the daughter of seven gladiators, wants nothing less than to follow her mother's path, but her only way of avoiding marriage to the warrior who killed her last stepfather may be to face him in the arena.

Green Witch
Green Witch By Hoffman, Alice (Book - 2010 )

Annotation:A year after her world was nearly destroyed, sixteen-year-old Green has become the one villagers turn to for aid, especially to record their stories, but Green will need the help of other women who, like herself, are believed to be witches if she is to find her best friend and her one true love.

Epic
Epic By Kostick, Conor, 1964- (Book - 2007 )

Annotation:On New Earth, a world based on a video role-playing game, fourteen-year-old Erik pursuades his friends to aid him in some unusual gambits in order to save Erik's father from exile and safeguard the futures of each of their families.

The Giver
The Giver By Lowry, Lois (Book - 1993 )

Annotation:Given his lifetime assignment at the Ceremony of Twelve, Jonas becomes the receiver of memories shared by only one other in his community and discovers the terrible truth about the society in which he lives.

Exodus
Exodus By Bertagna, Julie (Book - 2008 )

Annotation:In the year 2100, as the island of Wing is about to be covered by water, fifteen-year-old Mara discovers the existence of New World sky cities that are safe from the storms and rising waters, and convinces her people to travel to one of these cities in order to save themselves.

The Knife of Never Letting Go
The Knife of Never Letting Go By Ness, Patrick, 1971- (Book - 2008 )

Annotation:Pursued by power-hungry Prentiss and mad minister Aaron, young Todd and Viola set out across New World searching for answers about his colony's true past and seeking a way to warn the ship bringing hopeful settlers from Old World.

The Adoration of Jenna Fox
The Adoration of Jenna Fox By Pearson, Mary (Book - 2008 )

Annotation:In the not-too-distant future, when biotechnological advances have made synthetic bodies and brains possible but illegal, a seventeen-year-old girl, recovering from a serious accident and suffering from memory lapses, learns a startling secret about her existence.

Life as We Knew It
Life as We Knew It By Pfeffer, Susan Beth, 1948- (Book - 2006 )

Annotation:Through journal entries sixteen-year-old Miranda describes her family's struggle to survive after a meteor hits the moon, causing worldwide tsunamis, earthquakes, and volcanic eruptions.

Fever Crumb
Fever Crumb By Reeve, Philip (Book - 2010 )

Annotation:Foundling Fever Crumb has been raised as an engineer although females in the future London, England, are not believed capable of rational thought, but at age fourteen she leaves her sheltered world and begins to learn startling truths about her past while facing danger in the present.

The Forest of Hands and Teeth
The Forest of Hands and Teeth By Ryan, Carrie (Book - 2009 )

Annotation:Through twists and turns of fate, orphaned Mary seeks knowledge of life, love, and especially what lies beyond her walled village and the surrounding forest, where dwell the unconsecrated, aggressive flesh-eating people who were once dead.

Across the Universe
Across the Universe By Revis, Beth (Book - 2011 )

Annotation:Teenaged Amy, a cryogenically frozen passenger on the spaceship Godspeed, wakes up to discover that someone may have tried to murder her.

Unwind
Unwind By Shusterman, Neal (Book - 2007 )

Annotation:In a future world where those between the ages of thirteen and eighteen can have their lives "unwound" and their body parts harvested for use by others, three teens go to extreme lengths to uphold their beliefs--and, perhaps, save their own lives.

The Comet's Curse
The Comet's Curse By Testa, Dom (Book - 2009 )

Annotation:Desperate to save the human race after a comet's deadly particles devastate the adult population, scientists create a ship that will carry a crew of 251 teenagers to a home in a distant solar system.

Num8ers
Num8ers By Ward, Rachel, 1978- (Book - 2010 )

Annotation:Fifteen-year-old Jem knows when she looks at someone the exact date they will die, so she avoids relationships and tries to keep out of the way, but when she meets a boy named Spider and they plan a day out together, they become more involved than either of them had planned.

Uglies
Uglies By Westerfeld, Scott (Book - 2005 )

Annotation:In a world in which everyone is transformed into a stunning beauty at age 16, Tally has doubts.

A Shared List by JCLMeaganB

Member of Johnson County Library

Send JCLMeaganB a Message FollowFollow IgnoreIgnore Report This List

Description

Loved the Hunger Games series? Can't decide what to read next? Check out one of these great read-alikes!


English
Other

Powered by BiblioCommons.
app09 Version gurli Last updated 2014/12/09 10:52