[]
[]

JoCoLibrary - Teens - Hunger Games Readalikes

Enclave
Enclave By Aguirre, Ann (Book - 2011 )

Annotation:In a post-apocalyptic future, fifteen-year-old Deuce, a loyal Huntress, brings back meat while avoiding the Freaks outside her enclave, but when she is partnered with the mysterious outsider, Fade, she begins to see that the strict ways of the elders may be wrong-- and dangerous.

Ashes
Ashes By Bick, Ilsa J. (Book - 2011 )

Annotation:Alex, a resourceful seventeen-year-old running from her incurable brain tumor, Tom, who has left the war in Afghanistan, and Ellie, an angry eight-year-old, join forces after an electromagnetic pulse sweeps through the sky and kills most of the world's population, turning some of those who remain into zombies and giving the others superhuman senses.

Graceling
Graceling By Cashore, Kristin (Book - 2008 )

Annotation:In a world where some people are born with extreme and often-feared skills called Graces, Katsa struggles for redemption from her own horrifying Grace, the Grace of killing, and teams up with another young fighter to save their land from a corrupt king.

The Testing
The Testing By Charbonneau, Joelle (Book - 2013 )

Annotation:Sixteen-year-old Malencia (Cia) Vale is chosen to participate in The Testing to attend the University; however, Cia is fearful when she figures out her friends who do not pass The Testing are disappearing.

Matched
Matched By Condie, Allyson Braithwaite (Book - 2010 )

Annotation:All her life, Cassia has never had a choice. The Society dictates everything: when and how to play, where to work, where to live, what to eat and wear, when to die, and most importantly to Cassia as she turns 17, who to marry. When she is Matched with her best friend Xander, things couldn't be more perfect. But why did her neighbor Ky's face show up on her match disk as well?

The Way We Fall
The Way We Fall By Crewe, Megan (Book - 2012 )

Annotation:Sixteen-year-old old Kaelyn challenges her fears, finds a second chance at love, and fights to keep her family and friends safe as a deadly new virus devastates her island community.

The Maze Runner
The Maze Runner By Dashner, James (Book - 2009 )

Annotation:Sixteen-year-old Thomas wakes up with no memory in the middle of a maze and realizes he must work with the community in which he finds himself if he is to escape.

Wither
Wither By DeStefano, Lauren (Book - 2011 )

Annotation:After modern science turns every human into a genetic time bomb with men dying at age twenty-five and women dying at age twenty, girls are kidnapped and married off in order to repopulate the world.

Little Brother
Little Brother By Doctorow, Cory (Book - 2008 )

Annotation:After being interrogated for days by the Department of Homeland Security in the aftermath of a major terrorist attack on San Francisco, California, seventeen-year-old Marcus, released into what is now a police state, decides to use his expertise in computer hacking to set things right.

Truancy
Truancy By Fukui, Isamu (Book - 2008 )

Annotation:In the City, where an iron-fisted Mayor's goal is perfect control through education, fifteen-year-old Tack is torn between a growing sympathy for the Truancy, an underground movement determined to bring down the system at any cost, and the desire to avenge a death caused by a Truant.

Half Lives
Half Lives By Grant, Sara (Book - 2013 )

Annotation:Follows the lives of two unlikely teenaged heroes, mysteriously linked and living hundreds of years apart, as both struggle to survive and protect future generations from the terrible fate that awaits any who dare to climb the mountain.

Gone
Gone By Grant, Michael (Book - 2008 )

Annotation:In a small town on the coast of California, everyone over the age of fourteen suddenly disappears, setting up a battle between the remaining town residents and the students from a local private school, as well as those who have "The Power" and are able to perform supernatural feats and those who do not.

Girl in the Arena
Girl in the Arena A Novel Containing Intense Prolonged Sequences of Disaster and Peril By Haines, Lise (Book - 2009 )

Annotation:In Massachusetts, eighteen-year-old Lyn, who has grown up in the public eye as the daughter of seven gladiators, wants nothing less than to follow her mother's path, but her only way of avoiding marriage to the warrior who killed her last stepfather may be to face him in the arena.

Possession
Possession By Johnson, Elana (Book - 2011 )

Annotation:In a world where Thinkers control the population and Rules are not meant to be broken, fifteen-year-old Violet Schoenfeld must make a choice to control or be controlled after learning truths about her "dead" sister and "missing" father.

Legend
Legend By Lu, Marie (Book - 2011 )

Annotation:In a dark future, when North America has split into two warring nations, fifteen-year-olds Day, a famous criminal, and prodigy June, the brilliant soldier hired to capture him, discover that they have a common enemy.

The Knife of Never Letting Go
The Knife of Never Letting Go By Ness, Patrick (Book - 2008 )

Annotation:Pursued by power-hungry Prentiss and mad minister Aaron, young Todd and Viola set out across New World searching for answers about his colony's true past and seeking a way to warn the ship bringing hopeful settlers from Old World.

Delirium
Delirium By Oliver, Lauren (Book - 2011 )

Annotation:Lena looks forward to receiving the government-mandated cure that prevents the delirium of love and leads to a safe, predictable, and happy life, until ninety-five days before her eighteenth birthday and her treatment, she falls in love.

Life as We Knew It
Life as We Knew It By Pfeffer, Susan Beth (Book - 2006 )

Annotation:Through journal entries sixteen-year-old Miranda describes her family's struggle to survive after a meteor hits the moon, causing worldwide tsunamis, earthquakes, and volcanic eruptions.

Fever Crumb
Fever Crumb By Reeve, Philip (Book - 2010 )

Annotation:Foundling Fever Crumb has been raised as an engineer although females in the future London, England, are not believed capable of rational thought, but at age fourteen she leaves her sheltered world and begins to learn startling truths about her past while facing danger in the present.

Across the Universe
Across the Universe By Revis, Beth (Book - 2011 )

Annotation:Teenaged Amy, a cryogenically frozen passenger on the spaceship Godspeed, wakes up to discover that someone may have tried to murder her.

Divergent
Divergent By Roth, Veronica (Book - 2011 )

Annotation:In a future Chicago, sixteen-year-old Beatrice Prior must choose among five predetermined factions to define her identity for the rest of her life, a decision made more difficult when she discovers that she is an anomoly who does not fit into any one group, and that the society she lives in is not perfect after all.

Unwind
Unwind By Shusterman, Neal (Book - 2007 )

Annotation:In a future world where those between the ages of thirteen and eighteen can have their lives "unwound" and their body parts harvested for use by others, three teens go to extreme lengths to uphold their beliefs--and, perhaps, save their own lives.

Rush
Rush By Silver, Eve (Book - 2013 )

Annotation:Rochester, New York, high schooler Miki Jones is pulled into a sort of a game in which she and other teens battle real-life aliens and the consequences of each battle could be deadly.

Lockdown
Lockdown By Smith, Alexander Gordon (Book - 2009 )

Annotation:When fourteen-year-old Alex is framed for murder, he becomes an inmate in the Furnace Penitentiary, where brutal inmates and sadistic guards reign, boys who disappear in the middle of the night sometimes return weirdly altered, and escape might just be possible.

Ashes, Ashes
Ashes, Ashes By Treggiari, Jo (Book - 2011 )

Annotation:In a future Manhattan devastated by environmental catastrophes and epidemics, sixteen-year-old Lucy survives alone until vicious hounds target her and force her to join Aidan and his band, but soon they learn that she is the target of Sweepers, who kidnap and infect people with plague.

Variant
Variant By Wells, Robison E. (Book - 2011 )

Annotation:After years in foster homes, seventeen-year-old Benson Fisher applies to New Mexico's Maxfield Academy in hopes of securing a brighter future, but instead he finds that the school is a prison and no one is what he or she seems.

Uglies
Uglies By Westerfeld, Scott (Book - 2005 )

Annotation:In a world in which everyone is transformed into a stunning beauty at age 16, Tally has doubts.

Blood Red Road
Blood Red Road By Young, Moira (Book - 2011 )

Annotation:In a distant future, eighteen-year-old Lugh is kidnapped, and while his twin sister Saba and nine-year-old Emmi are trailing him across bleak Sandsea they are captured, too, and taken to brutal Hopetown, where Saba is forced to be a cage fighter until new friends help plan an escape.

All These Things I've Done
All These Things I've Done By Zevin, Gabrielle (Book - 2011 )

Annotation:In a future where chocolate and caffeine are contraband, teenage cellphone use is illegal, and water and paper are carefully rationed, sixteen-year-old Anya Balanchine finds herself thrust unwillingly into the spotlight as heir apparent to an important New York City crime family.

A Shared List by JoCoLibraryTeenPicks

Member of Johnson County Library

Send JoCoLibraryTeenPicks a Message FollowFollow IgnoreIgnore Report This List

Description

Waiting for the next book in the Hunger Games trilogy, or finished the last book and still aren't satisfied? Here are some great recommendations to tide you over. KM 10/13


English
Other

Powered by BiblioCommons.
Version pocillo (pocillo) Last updated 2014/08/21 13:32