The Manual of Detection

The Manual of Detection

Book - 2009
Average Rating:
3
Rate this:
Unexpectedly promoted to detective when his predecessor goes missing and a supervisor is killed, agency clerk Charles Unwin struggles with inexperience and nerves during a case in which he encounters bizarre clues and is framed for murder.
Published: New York : Penguin Press, 2009.
ISBN: 9781594202117
1594202117
Branch Call Number: F BER
Characteristics: 278 p. ;,24 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

JCLGreggW Jun 13, 2013

One of those books that mashes together several types of genres yet feels wholly fresh and original, Berry's MANUAL OF DETECTION is a delight. In a dark, dreamlike world, Charles Unwin is a personal secretary of sorts, filing away cases solved by the world's greatest detective. One day, the detective goes missing, and a hapless Unwin has to fill in, drawn into mysteries he thought were solved but must be looked at, and unraveled again. Offbeat, but wonderfully written, and filled with twists and turns. This is a great readalike for fans of Neil Gaiman and Jorge Luis Borges.

JCLJaredH Mar 22, 2013

I truly enjoyed this book. It is an engaging noir tale with a fantasy twist. It is a feel of "Dark City" within a cityscape from "Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow" with a little "Inception" thrown in as well. Charles Unwin is a likeable underdog who is doing the best he can to stay afloat in whirlpool of a situation. Sadly, this is the only novel written by this author, though he has completed several short stories. Recommended to those who like a little something more to their mysteries.

c
c_anderson
May 01, 2010

A stylish and thought-provoking book, with an unlikely hero.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number Find Series Titles and Similar Books With Novelist

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at DBRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top