Keeping the Castle

Keeping the Castle

eBook - 2012
Average Rating:
9
Rate this:
Seventeen-year-old Althea is the sole support of her entire family, and she must marry well. But there are few wealthy suitors--or suitors of any kind--in their small Yorkshire town of Lesser Hoo. Then, the young and attractive (and very rich) Lord Boring arrives, and Althea sets her plans in motion. There's only one problem; his friend and business manager Mr. Fredericks keeps getting in the way. And, as it turns out, Fredericks has his own set of plans . . . This witty take on the classic Regency--Patrice Kindl's first novel in a decade--is like literary champagne! "If you're a fan of I Capture the Castle
Published: [S.l.] : Penguin Group US, 2012.
ISBN: 9781101572061
110157206X
Branch Call Number: DOWNLOADABLE EBOOK
Characteristics: 1 online resource (272 p.)

Opinion

From Library Staff

List - A Journey Back in Time
DBRL_TEEN Aug 30, 2012

In order to support her family and maintain their ancient castle in Lesser Hoo, seventeen-year-old Althea bears the burden of finding a wealthy suitor who can remedy their financial problems.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

j
julia_sedai
May 18, 2017

This is a Regency romance comedy and is quite funny. I laughed out loud a few times. Some of it was a bit outrageous, like their names (Lord Boring). I thought Althea and Mr. Fredericks were both hilarious, but I wish they had had more time together. I think this book could have been a lot longer. Recommended for anyone who likes practical, headstrong main characters and male leads that are not idealistic.

m
marthabwaters
Jul 18, 2015

This book is best described as 'I Capture the Castle' meets a Regency romance (for teens!) and the result is a total delight. This is laugh-out-loud funny (Lord Boring? Lord Haxhamptonshire, pronounced 'Lord Hampster'?) with a delightfully willful heroine (who bears more than a passing resemblance to Austen's Emma) and a great cast of supporting characters. Such a fun, funny, charming read.

Peculiarly enough my views of this book peremptorily were masked by prejudice against the obviously cliché (Which is not a favorable adjective to use at the start of a review) plot and atmosphere, and pride for that bothering me... But it improved. From a quiet, rather awkward start it builds up and builds up, and fails to disappoint.
Certainly... Well. It was knocked off Jane Austen. But never fear, in spite of the beginning the author recognizes Jane Austen is not all about, "Oh, look, there is a rich, cute, guy. I must become engaged to him" and that I was grateful for. Further, I was grateful for not giving up as soon as I made that assumption.
-Althea's realization that beauty is only skin deep is recognizable, although it hardly goes in detail and I found that valuable, as even at the start of their engagement and not their acquaintance (Obviously) Fredericks and Althea have to set aside their differences. Of which there are not many, but regardless.

Hm. Incidentally, the cover photograph is of the Swallows' Nest Castle in the Ukraine, which was built during a few years after the Edwardian Era as a retreat for the gentry.

jeanner222 Feb 14, 2014

A book as frothy and fizzy and light as a champagne cocktail—think I Capture the Castle meets Pride and Prejudice!

Seventeen-year-old Althea Crowley must change her ways. She is far too honest with her many suitors and has ruined several chances for marriage. Why is her marital status so problematic? She must marry well (and soon) in order to support her family and their crumbling home, Crawley Castle.

Of course, there will be obstacles for this young woman. Things start to look up for Althea when the appealing Lord Boring moves nearby. The attraction is mutual, and Althea’s hopes are raised. Unfortunately, things are not as they seem with Boring.

Can Althea find true love and financial support? Is Lord Boring the one? Read this delightful novel for young people and find out!

h
hmcgivney
Jul 07, 2013

This is a charming, modern, fairy-tale take on a Regency romance. At times it almost reads like a parody; I got the impression that Kindl is winking at readers who love Jane Austen or Georgette Heyer. I enjoyed it on that level, but even without the knowledge of Regency tropes, it's still a nice, sweet story.

hgeng63 Mar 24, 2013

Attention Regency fans: Patrice Kindl has captured the correct tone & attitude--which is harder than you might think. The only drawback I could find was the heroine's plight 2/3rds of the way through the bk. Now I'm off to read the rest of her bks.

JCLBethanyT Mar 20, 2013

A perfect little pastry of a book--fun and vibrant and will appeal to adult and teen fans of Jane Austen.

i
izzyb14
Dec 15, 2012

I liked the bantering between Althea and Mr. Fredricks, but the rest of it was slightly dull. It's written in an old-fashioned style (modern but with a mix of old English language...if that makes any sense lol) so I had to pay more attention (as opposed to my usual skimming haha). Overall, a good book and I thought the story was cute and had it's funny moments.

s
sportsbookspce
Oct 21, 2012

This book was okay. It had it's moments but then other times it didn't hold up to my expectations. I found the characters fairly well written and LOVED the conversations between Althea and Mr. Fredericks. However, Althea's character frustrated me. At times she was caring and worked to help her brother and mother, and keep the castle while at other times she seemed selfish. I was not expecting the ending and wish there was a second book that continued the story.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at DBRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top