Mirror in the Sky

Mirror in the Sky

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
4
Rate this:
Tara, an Indian-American junior at Brierly prep school, feels her world dramatically change when a mirror planet to Earth is discovered and she, in this new era of scientific history, reconsiders her self and possible selves.
Published: New York :, Razorbill,, [2016]
ISBN: 9781595148568
1595148566
Branch Call Number: YA KHO
Characteristics: 334 pages ;,22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

r
rene1951
Jul 27, 2017

There is a movie, I can't remember the title (didn't like it) with exactly the same premise but from an adult male point of view. This seems more interesting.

a
akzfineart
Apr 26, 2017

This won't be a very detailed review, more a recommendation and why this book is so important.

So I'm really sad this has such a low average rating on Goodreads but at the same time I'm not surprised. I think I may have misinterpreted the synopsis or something because when this book became more contemporary than sci-fi (what I was really interested in), I had to set it down/read it in-between other books. The sci-fi aspect is still a very big part of this book but it's not the focus. If you want to read this because of the sci-fi element and not the contemporary you won't like it. I'm still going to recommend MIRROR IN THE SKY to everyone because this book is so, so important! Don't just write it off as "high school angst" - MIRROR IN THE SKY is so invaluable to teen and young adult readers. This is OwnVoices for an Indian MC; the main character is biracial but I'm not sure if that is also OwnVoices.

So many important topics/themes are covered: the pressure placed on teens to get good grades, join a fair amount of clubs/do extracurricular activities, work or support your family, make a decision/career choice that will impact your entire future at a very young age (16/17); peer pressure, bullying, racism, micro-aggressions, tokenism, misogyny. Finding yourself and just fitting in. Khorana creates a very authentic voice in her main character, Tara as well as her friends and family - it never felt like the author was introducing too much to the reader. There were so many things I could relate to, having experienced them when I was a teen and even as a young adult.

Khorana's writing is incredibly beautiful! As the novel progresses and Tara experiences new things, some good and some bad, the narrator [Tara] talks about these events with such wisdom. They're the kind of lines you find yourself quoting over and over again because they're so beautiful and memorable. For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han.

h
heidihui
Dec 05, 2016

Good character development but abrupt ending.

r
rosebud2112
Aug 05, 2016

Parts of this ring true...the pressures of high school, negotiating relationships, the impact of changing relationships. I was having a hard time believing, though, that the discovery of another planet with mirrored lives would precipitate the changes that it did in this book.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number Find Series Titles and Similar Books With Novelist

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at DBRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top