Security

Security

A Novel

eBook - 2016
Average Rating:
6
Rate this:
"Original and imaginative . . . Ripping suspense, sheer terror, and a wrenching love story." --Sandra Brown, New York Times bestselling author of Friction

The terrible truth about Manderley is that someone is always watching.

Manderley Resort is a gleaming, new twenty-story hotel on the California coast. It's about to open its doors, and the world--at least those with the means to afford it--will be welcomed into a palace of opulence and unparalleled security. But someone is determined that Manderley will never open. The staff has no idea that their every move is being watched, and over the next twelve hours they will be killed off, one by one.

Writing in the tradition of Edgar Allan Poe and Stephen King, and with a deep bow to Daphne du Maurier, author Gina Wohlsdorf pairs narrative ingenuity and razor-wire prose with quick twists, sharp turns, and gasp-inducing terror. Security is grand guignol storytelling at its very best.

A shocking thriller, a brilliant narrative puzzle, and a multifaceted love story unlike any other, Security marks the debut of a fearless and gifted writer.

"Be surprised, be very surprised: Gina Wohlsdorf brings more than just plot twists and a terrifically tender love story to this thriller . . . It's her playful homage to Hitchcock and du Maurier that had me reading, howling, and just plain loving this novel." --Sara Gruen, author of At the Water's Edge

" Grand Hotel meets Psycho in the age of surveillance . . . Security is cinematically vivid, crisply written, and sharp enough to cut . . . Wohlsdorf brilliantly subverts our expectations of the action genre in this smart, shocking, poignant thriller." --Emily Croy Barker, author of The Thinking Woman's Guide to Real Magic

"The thrill of this novel goes beyond its wickedly clever, split-screen, high-tech wizardry--a kind of video gamer's literary retake of Hitchcock's Rear Window--and emanates from its strange, disembodied narrator . . . The effect is terrifying, sexy, dizzying, and impossible to look away from." --Tim Johnston, author of Descent

"Shocking and filled with Tarantino-ish dark humor. . . Structurally reminiscent of the amazing Jennifer Egan,Wohlsdorf's book is certainly a hybrid, like nothing else. Get ready." --Ann Beattie, author of The State We're In

"Flawless . . . Security is perfectly tuned for blockbuster status . . . They don't make a hotel big enough to house all the people who will want to read this, and soon, as in Manderley, all eyes will be on Wohlsdorf." --Daniel Kraus, Booklist, starred review
Published: Chapel Hill :, Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill,, 2016.
ISBN: 9781616205973
Branch Call Number: OVERDRIVE DOWNLOADABLE EBOOK
Characteristics: 1 online resource
text file, rda

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

s
smmeloche
Nov 13, 2016

For all my reviews, check out Clues and Reviews
https://cluesandreviews.wordpress.com/

Manderly Resort, a luxury hotel by the ocean, is buzzing with excitement. Their opening day is tomorrow and there is still a lot of work to be done. The housekeepers are running room-to-room, cleaning up stains and buffing the marble floors. The cook is working diligently on preparing his opening night meal. The hotel manager is organizing staff and ensuring no detail is left. And a psychopathic, mask-wearing killer is on the loose to slaughter them all…

Where do I even start with Security by Gina Wohlsdorf?

This novel was completely different from any novel I have ever read.

Initially, I had a very hard time getting into this one. However, it’s creative, cunning and downright inventive narrative path kept me coming back for more. I am glad that I kept reading this one because it is a doozy.

The novel opens, as most do, with business as usual, the night before a grand hotel opening. The Manderly Hotel is state of the art with its complex design and excitedly awaiting their debut. Soon, a killer is moving swiftly through the hotel, taking out its members one by one. Systematically, violently and without any hesitation.

Wohlsdorf has some completely original moments within this book. For starters, the novel has flashes where the narrative text is split down the middle; this is meant to mirror the multiple security cameras in the resort. As you read one side, and then the other, you are shown multiple events happening in the hotel at the same time. Someone could be being brutally murdered on one floor, while someone is cleaning a bathroom on another. This was one of the most intriguing features of the book; I loved being able to see the multiple perspectives. This tactic also became quite eerie. This also comes into play with the naming of the chapters; each chapter is named based on which security camera it is following. That chapter will focus on all the events going on in the hotel through those specific lenses. This is kind of hard to understand at first but once you get a hang of it, you appreciate it for its originality. And it’s downright cool.

The narrator is an omniscient narrator. The voice comes across as “Big Brother” type- something right out of 1984. Initially, it is not made clear who he is, whether he is in on the killings or whether he is, simply, a victim himself. What we do know for sure, is that he is privy to watch all of the action in the hotel unfold through the security cameras. Whether or not he is enjoying it, is a completely separate issue. His narrative voice is detached and cold; he seems not bothered by the gore that he is watching on camera. This is one of the most disconcerting parts of the novel.

This book will not be everyone. For starters, it is kind of hard to follow; the narration is extremely disjointed (on purpose) but the story will not follow any sort of linear path. It jumps rampantly. One moment, you are looking through one lens and then it jumps back through the lens of another camera. Even with the warning of which cameras it is following, it still was a little difficult. I feel like it would have been more pleasing to have the multiple views told strictly in the side by side panels instead of mixed into the body of the text. It also moved rather quickly, the first people were already being murdered before I even had a chance to know who they were!

If you want a novel you can read absently and straightforward, you will not like this novel at all. This one will not allow you to be a complacent reader. However, if you want something more complex and original, then add this one to your list. You may also love this novel if you are a fan of slasher movies. This novel sort of reads like one!

Marlowe Oct 08, 2016

This was my first "horror" novel, and I really enjoyed the action and mystery. Security felt like a modern version of "The Shining." All the action is contained to a luxury hotel, and spills out to a large hedge maze. Family dramas play out inside, along with murder and mayhem. The ending is action packed, and might distract you from the question "why?"

AL_KATI Oct 04, 2016

Kinda hard to recommend a book that reads like a slasher film, but you're gonna want to keep reading to find out who lives...

Chapel_Hill_TracyB Sep 15, 2016

Clever, all-consuming, and gory. Readers who appreciate a unique point of view and love a race against time to solve the puzzle before the characters do will love eat up this fast-paced take on a slasher novel.

KateHillier Aug 30, 2016

This was a weird one. Weird but interesting. A hotel is built, called Manderley, and caters to the rich and famous. It's touted as having the most advanced security system in the industry. It's going to be the big selling point when the hotel finally opens.

We follow the hotel staff as they prepare for opening day through the point of view of the security cameras throughout the hotel. We also follow a killer making his way through the hotel, and the hotel staff.

It's a bizarre book, interesting in an experimental way but there's also a strong human element to it as well. Definitely an experience; and this is the author's first novel!

When I started this book, I couldn't put it down. I started it before I realized there was a fullpage review in the July issue of Book Page. It had a little bit of every type of genre in it. A top rated book. The book is about comings and going ons at the soon to open Maderly Resort told thru the eyes of the security cameras.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at DBRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top