Slightly South of Simple

Slightly South of Simple

A Novel

Paperback - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
5
Caroline Murphy swore she'd never set foot back in the small Southern town of Peachtree Bluff; she was a New York girl born and bred and the worst day of her life was when, in the wake of her father's death, her mother selfishly forced her to move--during her senior year of high school, no less--back to that hick-infested rat trap where she'd spent her childhood summers. But now that her marriage to a New York high society heir has fallen apart in a very public, very embarrassing fashion, a pregnant Caroline decides to escape the gossipmongers with her nine-year-old daughter and head home to her mother, Ansley. Ansley has always put her three daughters first, especially when she found out that her late husband, despite what he had always promised, left her with next to nothing. Now the proud owner of a charming waterfront design business and finally standing on her own two feet, Ansley welcomes Caroline and her brood back with open arms. But when her second daughter Sloane, whose military husband is overseas, and youngest daughter and successful actress Emerson join the fray, Ansley begins to feel like the piece of herself she had finally found might be slipping from her grasp. Even more discomfiting, when someone from her past reappears in Ansley's life, the secret she's harbored from her daughters their entire lives might finally be forced into the open.
Published: New York, NY :, Gallery Books, an imprint of Simon & Schuster, Inc.,, 2017.
Edition: First Gallery books trade paperback edition.
ISBN: 9781501158056
1501158058
Branch Call Number: F WOO
Characteristics: 369 pages ;,21 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
CCPL_Laura Jan 11, 2020

What a perfect summer read! This novel explores the dynamics between sisters and mothers and daughters, what it means to be in a successful marriage, and the many ways one can live life on their terms. While Caroline and Ansley have their opinions of how to be happy, the events surrounding the women in Peachtree Bluff prove there is no one correct answer to life’s surprises. The small-town atmosphere, Southern charm, and emotional core are at the heart of this enjoyable beach read. Fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Mary Kay Andrews will especially like this new voice in Southern fiction – particularly with a glass of iced sweet tea.

d
DW_kcls
Mar 17, 2019

Slightly South of Simple is the first book I've read by Kristy Woodson Harvey. I confess! I chose Slightly South of Simple simply for the too great title, but I found the story compelling (in a beachy way) if not written as tightly as it could have been. There were spots in some of the little subplots that seemed to just come out of nowhere, and then go nowhere, as some of the subplots themselves did, but that did not detract from the main story itself.

I think it's worth finding out more about the 'Peachtree Bluff' folks in The Secret to Southern Charm.

a
amistein
Jun 12, 2018

Ami-Summer/read by end of 2018

m
MamPrez
Sep 19, 2017

Can't wait for the next books in the series. Good story of sisterhood and motherhood. Family support and understanding ways of the heart and mind.

s
SaturdayLibrarian
May 15, 2017

A fresh new voice in Southern fiction. Her characters will stick with you long after you've read the last page.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at DBRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top