Blood Orange

Blood Orange

Book - 2019
Average Rating:
Rate this:
A young lawyer's idyllic family life and blossoming career are upended by a murder case involving a questionable confession and the lawyer's toxic affair with a manipulative senior partner.
A young lawyer's outwardly perfect life spirals out of control as she takes on her first murder case in this dark and twisty debut thriller for readers of Paula Hawkins, A.J. Finn, or Shari Lapena. I did it. I killed him. I should be locked up. Alison, a young lawyer, has just been given her first murder case to defend. Her new client is a meek housewife who doesn't deny that she stabbed her husband. In fact, she's desperate to plead guilty. But the deeper Alison digs into her story, the more she suspects that something is gravely amiss. Get your hands off me. And in Alison's own life, too, all is not as it seems. With a doting husband, an adorable daughter, and a blossoming career, she has everything she could want, right? But Alison is deeply entangled in a toxic affair with her senior legal partner--a man whose influence helped land her the murder case but whose taste for pushing boundaries may be more than she can handle--and unable to extricate herself. She's in way over her head. And as the murder case escalates, she can't stop her personal life from spinning further and further out of control. I'm watching you. I know what you're doing. But someone knows Alison's secret. Someone who wants to make Alison pay for what she's done, and who won't stop until she's lost everything.... A deeply disturbing, toxic and compelling novel that explores the power of fear and desire, jealousy and betrayal, love and hate, BLOOD ORANGE introduces a fresh and distinctive new voice in psychological suspense.
Alison, a young lawyer, has been given her first murder case to defend. Her new client doesn't deny she stabbed her husband-- in fact, she's desperate to plead guilty. Alison has a doting husband, an adorable daughter, and a blossoming career-- but she drinks too much, and is deeply entangled in a toxic affair with her senior legal partner. As the murder case escalates and her personal life spins out of control, she learns someone knows her secrets-- someone who wants to make Alison pay for what she's done. -- adapted from jacket
Published: New York :, Grand Central Publishing,, 2019.
Edition: First U.S. hardcover edition.
Copyright Date: ©2019
ISBN: 9781538762738
1538762730
Branch Call Number: F TYC
Characteristics: 340 pages ;,24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at DBRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top