Amari and the Night Brothers

Amari and the Night Brothers

Book - 2021
Average Rating:
Rate this:
7
Thirteen-year-old Amari, a poor Black girl from the projects, gets an invitation from her missing brother to join the Bureau of Supernatural Affairs and join in the fight against an evil magician.
Published: New York :, Balzer + Bray,, [2021]
Edition: First edition.
ISBN: 9780062975164
0062975161
Branch Call Number: J ALS
Characteristics: 408 pages :,illustrations ;,22 cm
Additional Contributors: Akpan, Godwin - Illustrator

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
Ms_Gaye Mar 19, 2021

Highly enjoyable mystery fantasy with a lot of action and a likeable main character who is smart, humble, and caring. Hefty reading at over 400 pages. If you like Harry Potter, give this one a try! Ages 9-12

Tigard_HollyCP Mar 01, 2021

Amari’s older brother is missing. She has no idea where to even begin looking until she receives an odd package leading her to discover a world of magic, realize the power she holds within, and set off on a quest to find her brother. She has always felt like an outsider, first as a poor Black girl at a rich private (read white) school on scholarship, and now as a magician at magical training camp in a place where people with powers such as hers are only known to be evil. Characters include a weredragon who hasn’t yet transformed, elevators with their own distinct personalities (yes, I said elevators), and an imprisoned and truly evil magician.

Ever since JK Rowling’s overtly transphobic statements, I have been searching for a worthy replacement for Harry Potter. This is it. Plus not only is it fantasy, but also science fiction! I can’t wait to read the rest of the series.

r
richiepartington
Feb 28, 2021

http://richiespicks.pbworks.com/AMARI-AND-THE-NIGHT-BROTHERS

t
Trixie_reads
Feb 26, 2021

A fun book, slightly reminiscent of Harry Potter, with a Black protagonist.

ArapahoeTanya Feb 13, 2021

I read this book in two sittings! Fans of Nevermoor and Harry Potter should be sure to pick this book up. When Amari gets an invitation to join the Bureau of Supernatural Affairs from her missing brother, Quinton, she is excited and confused. Her world is opened up to things she never knew existed and she is going to take this chance to find Quinton and bring him back home.

ArapahoeMary Feb 10, 2021

When Amari gets a message saying her missing brother's nominated her for a spot in the Bureau of Supernatural Affairs, she knows this is her chance to find out what happened. Magic! Adventure! Humor! Family! Deception! and...flying shoes?

PimaLib_TaylorJ Nov 20, 2020

Alston has created an instant classic! This #ownvoices fantasy is fast moving, wondrous, and so much fun. It centers heavily on relationships, crushing stereotypes, and discovering your own power. Perfect for fans of Nevermoor and Harry Potter. First in a trilogy. I can't wait to read them all!

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at DBRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top